top of page

Sudan 🇸🇩

Ahmed, 26


Born in Moscow, Russia and ancestry is from Khartoum, Sudan


Came to Australia in October 2017























What is your occupation?


I was a practising dentist in Sudan and am currently doing a Masters of Dental Public Health via distance learning at the University of Western Cape, South Africa. My Master's research thesis is about oral health and quality of life within the self-reported indigenous communities of Australia.


Currently, in Australia, I am working for the NDIS (National Disability Insurance Scheme) providing support coordination to people with disabilities. I help compile reports about the background of the participants, the goals, the accomplishments and the barriers.


Why did you come to Australia?


My father was appointed Sudanese Ambassador to Australia a few years ago.


Conscription is compulsory in Sudan but serving the Sudanese regime was not something that aligned with my values whatsoever, so I figured out a way to escape. Because my father was a diplomat, I could apply for a Visitor Visa which allowed me to stay in the country for 5 months.


I applied for a protection visa but it was an incredibly precarious position for me as I had no idea what the repercussions would potentially be for my father. Would he be removed from his position? Would he be required to go back to Sudan? My initial application was rejected because the officer said my father should be able to arrange something for me as I am his son; he passed the baton onto him which was very demoralising.


I am currently on a bridging visa and once I get approved for protection, I am eligible for permanent residency and more importantly, an Australian travel document. I am currently struggling mentally and am thinking of seeing a counsellor as I am unable to see my wife who lives in Saudi Arabia and my 7-month-old daughter. My Sudanese passport is expiring soon and I would be persecuted and most likely jailed for skipping conscription if I ever returned.


What do you like about Sydney?


The freedom of being able to do whatever you do is something that is amazing. You have all the basics and this makes me appreciative as I come from a country where these basics are often not available. At the moment, people are struggling for basic supplies in Sudan: people don’t have water, electricity, food etc. People are killed for expressing the freedom of speech or freedom of religion, basic tenets of democracy. There’s a brutal regime that is hellbent on killing people that don’t agree with them.


I love Sydney’s incredibly multicultural food scene. My favourites are Middle Eastern cuisines, especially Lebanese and Turkish. Jasmin1 Restaurant in Auburn is one of my personal favourites.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


I find that Sydney is too hectic, especially with the traffic. The rush-hour traffic is crazy and the lanes for some reason are very narrow, compared to what I’ve experienced in other countries like France, Tunisia and Vietnam.


I don’t like the cold weather at all so these few months will be tough for me.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


I really respect the people of Sydney during the COVID lockdowns. Everyone is being rewarded at the moment with the loosening of restrictions but that’s only possible because everyone is adhering to the rules and guidelines set out by the government and health officials.


In many other countries including Sudan, it’s still out of control. The reporting systems are also very weak so people have no idea how much transmission there truly is.


What languages do you speak?


Arabic (native), English


I studied in France during my primary school years, however, I have forgotten all of it.


When I was at the National University of Sudan, I took classes in English.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


يا زول

Ya zool


This is a uniquely Sudanese way of greeting people. It’s like saying “Dude.”


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


Sudan is a country full of potential as there are bountiful minerals, natural resources and agricultural output. However, the governments’ nepotism, corruption and political infighting have meant that we have been unable to fulfil this potential. The Second Sudanese Civil War was one of the longest civil wars in history, lasting over 22 years and ended in the formation of a new country, South Sudan.


The Kingdom of Kush, an early cradle of civilisation, started in Sudan. It’s a travesty that our government and tourism boards have failed to capitalise on the fact that the pyramids started in Sudan and that we have more pyramids than Egypt. We in fact have the most pyramids in the world.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Haitham Mustafa


He is one of Sudan’s most famous footballers and former captain of the national team.


In club football, he used to play for a team called Al-Hilal. After a falling out with the management, he jumped ship to their arch-rival, Al-Merrikh FC.


The equivalent would be Lionel Messi switching from Barcelona to Real Madrid.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Goraasa be Dama, a flavoursome beef stew made with fresh tomato and green pepper and given a depth of flavour by the addition of cardamom and cinnamon.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.


Comments


bottom of page