top of page

Sweden 🇸🇪

Pia, 43


Born in Värnamo, Sweden


Came to Australia in June 2008























How did we meet?


Pia was the coordinator of the Language Exchange Program at my university.


What is your occupation?


I am an International Student Advisor at the University of New South Wales.


It is busier and more complex than ever at the moment since a lot of international students are stranded overseas because of the pandemic. We would provide them with resources to help facilitate their online learning. Some of them are still paying rent in Australia because they didn’t have time to terminate their rental agreements. A lot of them want assistance in regards to visas, financial/academic/emotional issues and how long the travel ban will last.


For the students who are here, a lot of them are feeling isolated, anxious and homesick so it’s important for us to provide that support whenever required. It’s a myriad of problems.


Why did you come to Australia?


Growing up in Sweden as a half-Indonesian and half-Swedish woman, I never felt that I fitted in a homogenous society like Sweden. I didn’t look quintessentially ‘Swedish.’


I participated in an international dance conference that took place at Macquarie University and I was blown away by how multicultural Sydney was. I loved the spontaneous conversations you would have with complete strangers here. It gave me a great impression.


Later, while working at Malmo University, I was told about this job opportunity at La Trobe University to manage their student exchange program. I got it and they sponsored me to come! I then secured the aforementioned position here in Sydney and here I am! I love the beaches so I’m grateful that UNSW is so close to the coast.


What do you like about Sydney?


Having so many beautiful beaches and national parks close to the city centre is part of the allure. I love snorkelling and swimming and tried to get into surfing at one point; I just love spending time in the ocean. Malmo’s beaches are freezing cold and so you can only swim for a short while.


The temperate climate of Sydney means that you can be outdoors pretty much the entire year. A summer’s day in Sweden is like a good winter’s day in Sydney.


Being one of the most multicultural cities in the world, there are just so many different experiences to be had in Sydney. There’s a lot to love about this city.


I’m happy that my son is going to grow up in this welcoming environment.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


It is difficult and annoying at times to catch up with friends because taking public transport is so time-consuming. For example, I might need to take a couple of buses and trains just to see someone, unless we’re driving. I haven’t been able to drive though, since I've had my baby.


In Malmo, the buses take us everywhere and you can bike from one side of the town to another within 15 minutes. Sydney sucks when it comes to bicycles! It’s just not very practical or safe here, they need to make it more bicycle-friendly.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


In my experience, you live in a really beautiful and accepting city. As long as you’re nice, people will reciprocate that and that’s something to be grateful for.


What languages do you speak?


English, Swedish (native), Danish, Indonesian, French, German


While growing up, we spent each Christmas and New Year’s in Denmark because my mum’s best friend is Danish.


I would go to Indonesia every year to visit family in Bandung and Jakarta.


I learnt French for six years from Grade 7 and German for three years from Grade 10. I still remember quite a lot of both because I have a lot of French friends and Berlin is one of my favourite cities so I often visit.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


Lagom


It’s a very typical Swedish word meaning “just the right amount.’


lagom är bäst- The right amount is best. You don’t need too much of anything.


Fika


It basically means taking a break for coffee and a bite to eat. It’s time to catch up with friends and family. Many Swedish companies even have scheduled ‘fika’ times for their employees.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


Contrary to some people's beliefs, we don’t ride on moose or polar bears and we’re not all tall and blonde people!


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


ABBA


Everyone listened to them growing up and everyone is proud of the contributions they have made to pop music. They’re a Swedish phenomenon and gave Sweden its first Eurovision win in 1974.


Alfred Nobel


He was a Swedish chemist and is whom the Nobel Prize is named after.


What is the best dish in your native country?


SmĂśrgĂĽstĂĽrta


It is a savoury cake that is similar to a sandwich, but with large amounts of filling and garnish, similar to a layered cream cake. The fillings and toppings vary but my favourites include liver pate, salmon, cheese, ham, eggs, caviar, shrimp. You can buy them in IKEAs in Sweden but unfortunately, they’re not stocked here in Australia.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.



Commenti


bottom of page