top of page

Switzerland šŸ‡ØšŸ‡­

Anthony, 24


Born in Geneva, Switzerland


Came to Australia in November 2011























What is your occupation?


I work in Human Resources at Westpac but my dream is to be an educator one day, perhaps in the music industry. Iā€™d like to start my own business after learning different teaching methodologies; I feel like Iā€™d thrive in an environment where both the students and I have great autonomy about their own learning progress.


I am currently studying Music Performance at JMC Academy and previously studied a Bachelor of Psychology at Australian Catholic University.


Why did you come to Australia?


We first came here on a family trip to visit my uncle, who had immigrated here to be with his Australian wife. His high-profile work allowed him to immigrate here without too many dramas; he could choose what country he wanted to move to.


While we were en route to Cairns, my parents spontaneously pondered about potentially moving here. Being just 13, I decided to go with the flow. Weā€™ve moved here and havenā€™t looked back since!


What do you like about Sydney?


I enjoy the pace of life here; itā€™s not overly quick like New York but not monotonously slow either.


Australians tend to work to live whereas this wasnā€™t the case when I was briefly working at a consulting firm in Zurich. I tended to be shunned upon by senior colleagues when I asked questions, and I definitely prefer the Australian working culture.


I admire how Australia is a very egalitarian society. Most people I meet tend to be very open-minded, kind and sociable. During a thunderstorm a few days ago, I was assisted by a complete stranger after my umbrella had flipped inside out. Itā€™s the mateship of Australians that stands out after living in Europe.


What donā€™t you like about Sydney?


I donā€™t really like bogans. Theyā€™re backwards, superficial and just annoy me in general. Mind you, I am nitpicking there and every country has people like that, people who donā€™t think critically.


The traffic is insane here. My partner drives and I can tell that there are a lot of incompetent drivers.


Iā€™m not a big fan of the government as they come off as too capitalistic and short-sighted at times. For example, theyā€™re planning to demolish the housing commissions in Glebe in order to construct new residential housing. You have to consider everyoneā€™s needs.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Know whatā€™s important on a societal level.


We should be driving community growth initiatives as I feel like thereā€™s a disconnect growing within Western societies.


Think about whatā€™s morally right and ensure that your actions represent those values.


What languages do you speak?


Swiss German, French, English, Russian


Swiss German isnā€™t the same as Standard German spoken in Germany: there are many words and phrases that Germans wouldnā€™t understand.

My French is at a native level because that was my first language.


One of my ex-girlfriends was Russian so I know a tiny bit of that.


Vietnamese is next on my language-learning list as Iā€™m currently dating a Vietnamese girl.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


Chuchi Kaestli


Kitchen cupboard


We often joke at the Germansā€™ pronunciation of this Swiss-German word as they cannot pronounce it correctly.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


Switzerland has four official languages: French, Italian, German and Romansh. Romansh is considered the ā€œhiddenā€ language of Switzerland as itā€™s only really spoken in one canton of Switzerland, the Grisons.


Swiss shops are closed on Sunday. Itā€™s considered a sacred day where people are supposed to relax and go to church. By law, itā€™s illegal to mow the lawn, do any noisy DIY, and even hang out your laundry.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Roger Federer


When I first came to Australia, people asked me if I played tennis or knew Roger Federer. I was a short, chubby kid at the time and just shrugged off their questions.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Fondue


Itā€™s a Swiss melted cheese dish served in a communal pot over a portable stove heated with a candle or spirit lamp and eaten by dipping bread into the cheese using long-stemmed forks.


I miss it a lot but canā€™t have it anymore as I converted to veganism at the beginning of the year.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.



ComentƔrios


bottom of page